Choose Your Hard and Increase Your Joy at Work

Welcome to the Growth Guide, a weekly newsletter where I share actionable ideas to help you Live Better, Achieve More and Be Financially Free.

🎯 Today's Sponsor: The AI Writing Lab  

You're Using ChatGPT Wrong - We'll Help You Fix It

You can't feed ChatGPT one-line prompts and expect good outputs. It won't happen.

Instead, make ChatGPT your:

  • Intern

  • Researcher

  • Personal Assistant

You do the thinking and ChatGPT will do the writing.

Join us in the AI-Writing Lab to learn how to double your output in half the time.

You Get to Learn to use ChatGPT and spend 3 hours live with me. 

Use discount code CLINT50 to get 50% off.

Live Better

This week on the Growth Guide Podcast we talked to Beth Stallwood, author of Workjoy: A Toolkit for a Better Working Life.

The average person spends 35% of their total waking hours working.

60% of those people are unhappy with their jobs.

In Workjoy, Beth inspires you to take ownership of your working life by breaking free from the idea of work-life balance and un-blurring your boundaries.

She shows you how to reframe your work relationships, let go of limiting beliefs and craft Big Goals.

Click below to listen to the episode with Beth Stallwood:

Achieve More

Life is hard.

Whether the process is hard,

Or it’s the results that are hard.

You get to choose your version of hard.

Do today what other’s won’t; do tomorrow what other’s can’t.

- Smoke Jumper Creed

Today I had a conversation with a retired Commander of the U.S. Navy SEALs, Mark Divine.

It was a wide-ranging conversation we’ll be sharing with you on a future Podcast and YouTube Episode.

Our talk about synchronicity blew me away, because his book, which I hadn’t read yet,

  • Dove into the Two Wolves Concept from two weeks ago

  • Talked about today’s newsletter - choose your hard

Choose Your Hard

If you choose to do hard things, you’ll often have a good life.

If you choose to live comfortably and not push at your edges, you’ll often have a hard life.

Mark and I both believe you need to suck it up and do the hard work to become the best version of yourself and a few of the things we talked about are:

  • 20x Factor

  • Do Hard Things

  • Learn to Embrace the Suck

  • Build Your Get Sh!t Done Muscle

20x Factor

When he was at Hell Week, Mark recalled Lieutenant Zinke yelling You guys are capable of at least twenty times what you think you are. Now get off your sorry asses and hit that surf!

As he went through Hell Week, he realized he possibly was capable of 20x more than he’d realized.

Since then, his research has shown the seals weren’t the first warriors to figure out the idea of mighty efforts to prepare warriors for battle and Mark notes:

You may think progress in science and material wealth means we don’t have to suffer the challenges these warriors endured. That would be missing the point - hard work built character then as it does now, while a soft life weakens it.

Comfort imprisons us in a low-grade fear of suffering. We naturally shy from things that hurt, not understanding how much this pattern debilitates us and keeps us from experiencing life at its fullest.

We must define our comfort zone, and then get the heck out of it! The 20x Factor is all about embracing a personal culture of mighty effort.

Do Hard Things

I write about this consistently.

If you don’t do hard things, you can’t expect good things.

When you continuously do hard things, you teach yourself you can achieve anything.

I recommend you:

  • Start small

  • Start where you are

  • Increase difficulty slowly

  • Be consistent in what you do

Hard things don’t need to be physical.

You can:

  • Do a 30 day yoga challenge

  • Challenge yourself to read 40 books

  • Pursue your Master’s Degree or do a PhD

Learn to Embrace the Suck

I’ll never get tired of saying it,

To be great, Embrace the Suck.

Embrace the Suck long enough to be good.

Be good long enough until you become great.

To go from suck → Good → Great, use Consistency.

Whether positive or negative, consistency compounds.

Build Your Get Sh!t Done Muscle

Building my Get Sh!t Done Muscle changed my life.

Prior to building it, I never achieved anything meaningful.

My life wasn’t bad. In fact, it was easy and I was comfortable.

The problem was, my results aligned with an easy, comfortable life:

  • Few investments

  • A low career ceiling

  • No vision of my future

  • No purpose to live life for

It all changed when I built my Get Sh!t Done Muscle.

By building this muscle, I learned I could achieve anything I wanted in life, as long as I:

  • Knew what I wanted

  • Understood what it took

  • Did the work. Day in. Day out

By making my life harder [the process], I made my life easier [the results].

Even better, the more I created a process that challenged and pushed me, the more I enjoyed living life this way.

Choose to Live Hard Today so you can Live Easy Tomorrow.

A Thought

The decision to live a hard life to get the results I wanted is something I wish I’d done 10+ years earlier.

I have few regrets in life and this is one of them.

A Question

Where can you push your edges?

How can you be less comfortable to get the results you want?

Etc.

For the Thought and Question, drop me a note - I want to hear from you.

When you have 10 referrals, you’ll receive a Free Guide on the 15 Mindset Shifts that will help you be a Millionaire.

Join the conversation

or to participate.